Origin: Netherlands  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Page online: February 21, 2018
Last update/review: February 21, 2018


Vocalist Anneke Van Giersbergen has been busy ever since her meteoric rise with (and eventual exit from) The Gathering, recording solo work with Agua De Annique as well as collaborating with both Devin Townsend and Arjen Luccasen in recent years. She formed Vuur in 2016 to explore her metal side (her words) while she continues to explore other musical endeavors as a solo artist. The debut album, 2017's In This Moment We Are Free - Cities, features Anneke in peak form, with the band style vaguely in the progressive metal mold but with some crunchy, downtuned guitars (for some reason, recent Madder Mortem arises as a slight soundalike). Time will tell whether Anneke continues this project, but for now Cities makes for a fine debut.

Current Members

Anneke Van Giersbergen

vocals (Agua De Annique, ex-Devin Townsend Project, ex-The Gathering)

Ferry Duijsens


Jord Otto

guitars (ex-ReVamp)

Johan van Stratum


Ed Warby

drums (ex-Elegy, ex-Gorefest, ex-Hail Of Bullets)


In This Moment We Are Free - Cities  
2017 Inside Out
  1. My Champion - Berlin
  2. Time - Rotterdam
  3. The Martyr and the Saint - Beirut
  4. The Fire - San Francisco
  5. Freedom - Rio
  6. Days Go By - London
  7. Sail Away - Santiago
  8. Valley of Diamonds - Mexico City
  9. Your Glorious Light Will Shine - Helsinki
  10. Save Me - Istanbul
  11. Reunite! - Paris
  • Anneke Van Giersbergen
  • Ferry Duijsens
  • Jord Otto
  • Johan van Stratum
  • Ed Warby

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions