Origin: Myrtle Beach, Florida, USA  
Genres: Death Metal
Official Site
Page online: March 21, 2005
Last update/review: October 31, 2008

Council Of The Fallen

Council Of The Fallen was formed in 1997 by Kevin Quirion and Derek Roddy, the latter of whom appears poised to challenge The duo recorded a demo in 2000 and then picked up former Broken Hope bassist Sean Baxter to complete the lineup, the trio recording their debut album Revealing Damnation two years later. It's brutal death metal, which is always reliably energetic and vicious, and Council is no exception. Quirion and Baxter trade lead vocals, with one doing the standard low growls and the other more in the black metal rasp category, their interplay lending a nice touch. Roddy is of course all over the place -- he's long since established himself as a quality death metal drummer and he does not disappoint here. By 2004 Roddy had to depart as his other band commitments became too much to juggle, but with new drummer Tim Yeung (also a death metal veteran -- in fact Roddy replaced Yeung in Hate Eternal) and second guitaristy Shawn Ohtani joining the group, the band's second album, Deciphering The Soul, was released in 2004. They released an EP two years later, and then disbanded, but core members Kevin Quirion and Scott Patrick later resurfaced in a new band, Order Of Ennead.

Last Lineup

Kevin Quirion

guitars/vocals (Deicide, Order Of Ennead)

Scott Patrick

bass (Order Of Ennead, ex-Resurrection)

Dave Kinkade

drums (guest for Borknagar, ex-Insatanity, ex-Soulfly)

Former Members/Guests

Shawn Ohtani


Sean Baxter

bass/vocals (ex-Broken Hope, ex-Em Sinfonia)

Derek Roddy

drums (ex-Aurora Borealis, ex-Divine Empire, ex-Hate Eternal, ex-Malevolent Creation, Menace, guest for Nile)

Tim Yeung

drums (ex-Aurora Borealis, ex-Decrepit Birth, Divine Heresy, ex-Hate Eternal, ex-Morbid Angel)


Revealing Damnation  
2002 Martyr Music
  1. Search For Purpose
  2. Eternal Suffering
  3. Shadowed Horizon
  4. Secrets No Longer
  5. Unveiling The Path
  6. Lying In Wait
  7. Cloaked In Isolation
  8. Demon Winds
  9. Remnants Of Existence
  10. Confronting The Absense
  11. Cast From The Heavens
  12. Realms Of Conquest
  • Kevin Quirion
  • Sean Baxter
  • Scott Patrick
  • Derek Roddy

Deciphering The Soul  
2004 Martyr Music
  1. Intro
  2. Longing For Clarity
  3. Acceptance In Silence
  4. No Vision Of Prophecy
  5. Scourge Of Thy Enemy
  6. Distant Memories
  7. Tempting Angelic Pride
  8. Resurgence
  9. Falling Through Decades
  10. Repetition Breeds Insanity
  11. Outro
  • Kevin Quirion
  • Shawn Ohtani
  • Sean Baxter
  • Scott Patrick
  • Tim Yeung

Sever All Negatives  EP
  1. Introspection And The Loss Of Denial
  2. As If A Rose I Wither
  3. Reflection, An Endless Endeavour
  • Kevin Quirion
  • Scott Patrick
  • Dave Kinkade

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions