Origin: Falun, Sweden  
Genres: Power Metal
Page online: July 1, 2016
Last update/review: June 29, 2022

Civil War

Civil War was formed soon after the release of Sabaton's Carolus Rex album in 2012, with 4 of the 6 members deciding to depart and start their own band (two of those remain). Musically this band is in the same ballpark as Sabaton, playing upbeat, bombastic Euro power metal, with a lyrical emphasis on war, triumph, and so forth. The band's 2015 effort, Gods And Generals, is all over the map (literally) lyrics-wise, with nods to the American Civil War era (which also serves as the band's visual image) as well as landmarks such as Iwo Jima, the Bay Of Pigs, and even Braveheart. The songs are a bit over-the-top and run together a bit, especially the anthemic singalong choruses, but there's no faulting their conviction. Predictably, their succeeding albums drift a bit musically from Sabaton.

Current Members

Petrus Granar


Thobbe Englund


Daniel Mÿhr

keyboards (ex-Sabaton)

Daniel Mullback

drums (ex-Sabaton)

Former Members/Guests

Nils Patrik Johansson

vocals (Astral Doors, Lion's Share, Wuthering Heights)

Kelly Carpenter

vocals (Adagio, ex-Beyond Twilight, ex-Outworld)

Oskar Montelius

guitars (ex-Sabaton)

Rikard Sundén

guitars (ex-Sabaton)

Pizza (Stefan Eriksson)



Civil War  EP
  1. Rome Is Falling
  2. Civil War
  3. Forevermore
  4. Custers Last Stand
  5. Say It Right
  • Nils Patrik Johansson
  • Oskar Montelius
  • Rikard Sundén
  • Pizza
  • Daniel Mÿhr
  • Daniel Mullback

The Killer Angels  
  1. King of the Sun
  2. First to Fight
  3. Saint Patrick's Day
  4. Rome Is Falling
  5. Sons of Avalon
  6. I Will Rule the Universe
  7. Lucifer's Court
  8. Brother Judas
  9. My Own Worst Enemy
  10. Gettysburg
  11. Children of the Grave (Black Sabbath cover)
  • Nils Patrik Johansson
  • Oskar Montelius
  • Rikard Sundén
  • Pizza
  • Daniel Mÿhr
  • Daniel Mullback

Gods And Generals  
2015 Napalm
  1. War of the World
  2. Bay of Pigs
  3. Braveheart
  4. The Mad Piper
  5. USS Monitor
  6. Tears from the North
  7. Admiral over the Oceans
  8. Back to Iwo Jima
  9. Schindler's Ark
  10. Gods and Generals
  11. Knights of Dalecarlia
  12. Colours on My Shield
  • Nils Patrik Johansson
  • Oskar Montelius
  • Rikard Sundén
  • Petrus Granar
  • Pizza
  • Daniel Mÿhr
  • Daniel Mullback

The Last Full Measure  
2016 Napalm
  1. Road To Victory
  2. Deliverance
  3. Savannah
  4. Tombstone
  5. America
  6. A Tale That Never Should Be Told
  7. Gangs Of New York
  8. Gladiator
  9. People Of The Abyss
  10. The Last Full Measure
  11. Strike Hard Strike Sure (bonus track)
  12. Aftermath (bonus track)
  • Nils Patrik Johansson
  • Rikard Sundén
  • Petrus Granar
  • Daniel Mÿhr
  • Daniel Mullback

2022 Napalm
  1. Oblivion
  2. Dead Man's Glory
  3. Invaders
  4. Heart of Darkness
  5. Andersonville
  6. Carry On
  7. Soldiers and Kings
  8. Warrior Soul
  9. Slaughterhouse 5
  10. Battle of Life
  • Kelly Carpenter
  • Petrus Granar
  • Thobbe Englund
  • Daniel Mÿhr
  • Daniel Mullback

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions