Origin: France  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: August 3, 2017


The French band Adagio (not to be confused with the Brazilian band also called Adagio) Yngwie Malmsteen-influenced guitar virtuoso who seems to be a rising star in the progressive metal field. He won a recording contract in 1999 and at that time decided to put together a proper band. He has surrounded himself with some impressive talent, drawing players with membership in bands such as Elegy, Majestic, and Pink Cream 69, and 2001's Sanctus Ignis is the first album released by the band. The style is neoclassical progressive metal, with Symphony X often noted as a soundalike. wandering into Malmsteen-esque histrionics, though for the most part he manages to impress without overdoing it. There is plenty of top-notch musicianship exhibited by the others, particularly keyboardist Richard Andersson who turns in a fine performance. An interesting twist on the album is an classical instrumental take on the Led Zeppelin classic "Immigrant Song". Hardly recognizeable from the original, the band instead puts its own unique stamp on the song, a welcome change from covers that end up sounding exactly like the original. Sanctus Ignis is a fine debut in the classical prog metal field.

Two years later, the band returns with Underworld. Not reviewed here at this time, the classical and symphonic attributes of the band have reportedly been increased, while still maintaining a similar spirit to the original.

Current Members

Kelly Carpenter

vocals (ex-Beyond Twilight, ex-Civil War, ex-Outworld)

Stéphan Forté


Franck Hermanny


Kévin Codfert

keyboards (guest for Myrath)

Mayline Gautié


Jelly Cararelli


Former Members/Guests

David Readman

vocals (ex-Almanac, Pink Cream 69, ex-Tank (Tucker/Evans version), Voodoo Circle)

Gustavo Monsanto

vocals (ex-Overdose, ex-Revolution Renaissance)

Christian Palin


Richard Andersson

keyboards (ex-Iron Mask)

Dirk Bruinenberg

drums (ex-Elegy)

Eric Lebailly



Sanctus Ignis  
2001 Limb Music
  1. Second Sight
  2. The Inner Road
  3. In Nomine
  4. The Stringless Violin
  5. The Seven Lands Of Sin
  6. Order Of Enlil
  7. Sanctus Ignis
  8. Paem Et Circences
  9. Immigrant Song
  10. Niflheim
  11. Nozama
  • David Readman
  • Stéphan Forté
  • Franck Hermanny
  • Richard Andersson
  • Dirk Bruinenberg

2003 Avalon
  1. Next Profundis
  2. Introitus
  3. Solvet Saeclum In Favilla
  4. Chosen
  5. From My Sleep... To Someone Else
  6. Underworld
  7. Promises
  8. The Mirror Stage
  9. Niflheim
  10. Missa Aeterna
  • David Readman
  • Stéphan Forté
  • Franck Hermanny
  • Kévin Codfert
  • Dirk Bruinenberg

A Band In Upperworld  
2004 Avalon
  1. Introitus
  2. Second Sight
  3. Chosen
  4. The Stringless Violin
  5. From My Sleep ... To Someone Else
  6. Promises
  7. Seven Lands Of Sins
  8. Panem Et Circences (Japanese Bonus Track)
  9. In Nomine ...
  • David Readman
  • Stéphan Forté
  • Franck Hermanny
  • Kévin Codfert
  • Eric Lebailly

2006 Avalon
  1. Fire Forever
  2. Arcanas Tenebrae/Dominate
  3. Terror Jungle
  4. Children of the Dead Lake
  5. R'Lyeh the Dead
  6. The Darkitecht
  7. Kissing the Crow
  8. Fame
  9. Undying (Japanese bonus track)
  • Gustavo Monsanto
  • Stéphan Forté
  • Franck Hermanny
  • Kévin Codfert
  • Eric Lebailly

Archangels In Black  
  1. Vamphyri
  2. The Astral Pathway
  3. Fear Circus
  4. Undead
  5. Archangels In Black
  6. The Fifth Ankh
  7. Codex Oscura
  8. Twilight At Dawn
  9. Getsu Senshi
  • Christian Palin
  • Stéphan Forté
  • Franck Hermanny
  • Kévin Codfert
  • Eric Lebailly

  1. Life
  2. The Ladder
  3. Subrahmanya
  4. The Grand Spirit Voyage
  5. Darkness Machine
  6. I'll Possess You
  7. Secluded Within Myself
  8. Trippin' Away
  9. Torn
  • Kelly Carpenter
  • Stéphan Forté
  • Franck Hermanny
  • Kévin Codfert
  • Mayline Gautié
  • Jelly Cararelli

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions