Origin: Texas, USA  
Official Site
Last update/review: February 18, 2009


Those following the latter years of Pantera were likely not surprised with the eventual announcement of their breakup, with vocalist Phil Anselmo delving into numerous projects and no real word from the Pantera camp for some time. So, it was 2003, Pantera was finished, and that left the Abbott brothers with the task of forming a new band, and soon enough came the announcement of that band, originally called New Found Power, then Damageplan. The interesting choice of lead vocalist fell to Patrick Lachman, formerly known as a guitarist in Halford. In due time came the debut album, its title a reminder of the original band name, New Found Power. The likely course for the Abbotts was to retain the Pantera fan base without simply reliving past glories. The style of the album, then, is not really a surprise, as it's neither a clone of the signature Pantera style nor a radical departure from it. Lachman is a capable frontman, but given the inevitable comparison to Anselmo, he arguably falls a bit short. The prevailing opinions on New Found Power were that it was a capable album, good but not great. Unfortunately, the tragic shooting death of Dimebag Darrell Abbott onstage in December 2004 sent the metal world into mourning and marked the premature end to this band.

Last Lineup

Patrick Lachman

vocals (Diesel Machine, ex-Gargoyle, ex-Halford)

Darrell Abbott

guitars (ex-Pantera) RIP: December 8, 2004, murdered onstage, age 38

Bob "Zilla" Kakaha

bass (ex-Hellyeah)

Vince Abbott

drums (ex-Hellyeah, ex-Pantera) RIP: June 22, 2018, age 54


New Found Power  
2004 Elektra
  1. Wake Up
  2. N.F.P.
  3. Pride
  4. Blunt Force Trauma
  5. Save Me
  6. Explode
  7. Fuck You
  8. Cold Blooded
  9. Reborn
  10. Blink Of An Eye
  11. Breathing New Life
  12. Crawl
  13. Moment Of Truth
  14. Soulbleed
  • Patrick Lachman
  • Darrell Abbott
  • Bob "Zilla" Kakaha
  • Vince Abbott
2004 Readers' Album #27

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions