Origin: France  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Official Site Facebook
Page online: October 5, 2006
Last update/review: September 22, 2012

Spheric Universe Experience

Sometimes the name of a band really says is all. Fleshgrind is clearly a death metal band, Mushroom River Band must be a stoner rock band, and what else would a band named Spheric Universe Experience play except progressive metal? Sure enough, thatÂ’s what Mental Torments, the debut album from this young French group, has to offer, deriving from the obvious influences such as Dream Theater while injecting enough original ideas to make it worthwhile. Production and musicianship is always important with bands like this, and SUE excel on both counts, with keyboardist Fred Columbo deserving high marks for some graceful piano work as well as the more standard keyboard wizardry typical of prog metal. There have been a few good French progressive bands in years past (one-album-wonders Syrinx comes to mind), but these guys clearly have the potential for greatness.

Current Members

Franck Garcia


Vince Benaim


John Drai


Fred Colombo


Cristophe Briande


Former Members/Guests

Nicolas Muller



Mental Torments  
  1. So Cold
  2. Now Or Never
  3. Burning Box Gala
  4. Saturated Brain
  5. Moonlight
  6. Halleygretto
  7. Mental Torments
  8. Echoes Of The Stars
  • Franck Garcia
  • Vince Benaim
  • John Drai
  • Fred Colombo
  • Nicolas Muller

2007 Anima
  1. Sceptic
  2. Being
  3. The Inner Quest
  4. Neptune's Revenge
  5. Stormy Dome
  6. World Of Madness
  7. End Of Trauma
  8. Heal My Pain
  9. Questions
  10. The Key
  11. Black Materia
  • Franck Garcia
  • Vince Benaim
  • John Drai
  • Fred Colombo
  • Cristophe Briande

2009 Sensory
  1. White Willow
  2. Down Memory Lane
  3. Lakeside Park
  4. 3rd Type
  5. Near Death Experience
  6. Lost Ghost
  7. Dragged
  8. O.B.E.
  9. Tomorrow
  • Franck Garcia
  • Vince Benaim
  • John Drai
  • Fred Colombo
  • Cristophe Briande

The New Eve  
2012 Nightmare
  1. Shut Up
  2. The New Eve
  3. Escape
  4. Never Heal
  5. Angel
  6. The Day I Died
  7. In This Place
  8. Self Abuse
  9. My Heart On The Cross
  • Franck Garcia
  • Vince Benaim
  • John Drai
  • Cristophe Briande

Copyright © 1995-2021 BNR Productions