Origin: San Francisco, California, USA  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Official Site Twitter
Last update/review: October 25, 2019


Skinlab and Machine Head have much in common. Both are from the San Francisco area, both are 90's bands with 80's thrash heritage, and most importantly, the bands sound quite similar, at least when comparing the debut albums of each. The ultra-heavy, bludgeoning riffing popularized by MH is very apparent on Skinlab's Bound, Gagged And Blindfolded. While Machine Head has been drifting slightly into nu-metal territory on their later releases, Skinlab seemed more intent on sticking to the harder, thrashier stuff, throughout their four- album career.

The band had been inactive since 2003, when core members Scott Sargeant and Paul Hopkins departed after a late-year tour. Vocalist Steev Esquivel joined a new band, Re:Ignition (link below), which seemed to signal the official end of the band, but as of September 2006 the guys were once again rehearsing and looking to record, probably later in 2007.

Current Members

Steve Esquivel

vocals/bass (ex-Defiance, ex-Re:Ignition)

Snake (Steve Green)

guitars (ex-Re:Ignition, ex-Skrew)

Marco Rivera


Paul Hopkins


Fabian Vestod


Former Members/Guests

Mike Roberts


Gary Wendt

guitars (ex-Sacrilege B.C., The Ghost Next Door)

Scott Sargeant

guitars (ex-Gack, ex-Killingculture, ex-Laaz Rockit, ex-M.O.D.)

Glen Telford

guitars RIP: August 2018


Bound, Gagged And Blindfolded  
1997 Century Media
  1. When Pain Comes to Surface
  2. Dissolve
  3. Race of Hate
  4. Paleface
  5. Down
  6. Promised
  7. Stumble
  8. Art of Suffering
  9. Ten Seconds
  • Steve Esquivel
  • Mike Roberts
  • Gary Wendt
  • Paul Hopkins

Eyesore  EP
1998 Century Media
  1. So Far From The Truth
  2. Noah
  3. Pitto Wilson
  4. Pain Comes To Surface
  5. Palface (live)
  • Steve Esquivel
  • Snake
  • Scott Sargeant
  • Paul Hopkins

Disembody: The New Flesh  
1999 Century Media
  1. So Far From The Truth
  2. Know Your Enemies
  3. No Sympathy (For the Devil)
  4. Seapegoat
  5. Breathe
  6. I Name My Pain
  7. Excellerate
  8. Coward
  9. Second Skin (New Flesh)
  10. Looks Can Be Deceiving
  • Steve Esquivel
  • Snake
  • Scott Sargeant
  • Paul Hopkins
1999 Readers' Album #36

2002 Century Media
  1. Intro
  2. Come Get It
  3. Slave The Way
  4. Purify
  5. Anthem For A Fallen Star
  6. Disturbing The Art Of Expression
  7. Take As Needed
  8. Jesus Sells
  9. Never Give In
  10. One Of Us
  • Steve Esquivel
  • Snake
  • Glen Telford
  • Paul Hopkins

2008 BCD
  1. Intro
  2. So Far From The Truth
  3. Excellerate
  4. Slave The Way
  5. Second Skin
  6. When Pain Comes To Surface
  7. Dissolve
  8. Scapegoat
  9. No Sympathy For The Devil
  10. Paleface
  11. Know Your Enemies
  12. Face Of Aggression
  • Steve Esquivel
  • Snake
  • Glen Telford
  • Paul Hopkins

The Scars Between Us  
  1. Face of Aggression
  2. Amphetamine Gods
  3. Scream at the World
  4. Wolvesblood
  5. Karma Burns
  6. In For The Kill
  7. Paper Trails
  8. Still Suffering
  9. Bloodclot
  10. My Vendetta
  11. The Scars Between Us
  • Steve Esquivel
  • Snake
  • Glen Telford
  • Paul Hopkins

2019 Art Is War
  1. The Fury Within The Fire
  2. Amerikill
  3. Venomous
  4. Overcoming
  5. Demons
  6. For The Fallen
  7. Far From Grace
  8. Eyes Of Your Enemy
  9. End Of Silence
  10. The Family
  • Steve Esquivel
  • Snake
  • Marco Rivera
  • Fabian Vestod

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions