Origin: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA  
Genres: Doom Metal
Page online: April 7, 2011
Last update/review: February 27, 2023

Under The Sun

Under The Sun was a collaboration founded by Dave Roman and Mike Smail (both once of the mighty Penance), the pair roping in noted vocalist Dennis Cornelius to round out the trio. A name check of the former bands from these guys gives a fair indication of what's in store here, and that's prime 70's-influenced garage doom metal/rock done right. There are few surprises among the first five tracks on the album, but that also means few to no disappointments, as Cornelius has always had one of the best underground doom voices in the business, Smail has proven his mettle in many bands, and the least known of the three, guitarist Roman, acquits himself quite nicely. Lyrically, there are clear religious overtones here, not in the preachy sense at all, but more in the mold of prime Trouble -- positive, uplifting, soulful, and poignantly written. The last two songs are more of a departure, as "Forgiveness" has a more upbeat, rock feel to it, while the title track features a cool subtle moodiness and understated spoken vocals. Man Of Sorrow is a winner, and a sure-fire bet for any fan of any of the bands listed, as well as those into the classic underground doom sound.

Last Lineup

Dennis Cornelius

vocals (ex-Oversoul, ex-Place Of Skulls, ex-Revelation)

Dave Roman

guitars/bass (ex-Penance)

Mike Smail

drums (ex-Cathedral, ex-Dream Death, ex-Internal Void, ex-Penance, ex-Pentagram)


Man Of Sorrow  
2010 self-released
  1. Stride
  2. Divinity
  3. Bruised
  4. Joy
  5. To Sleep with Anger
  6. Forgiveness
  7. Man of Sorrow
  • Dennis Cornelius
  • Dave Roman
  • Mike Smail

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions