Origin: London, England  
Genres: NWOBHM
Official Site
Page online: January 17, 2010
Last update/review: January 17, 2010

Weapon UK

This London band is probably best known for their song "Set The Stage Alight", a typically high-energy NWOBHM rocker that was the B-side to their 1980 single ("Mad Mad World"), as well as being featured on the Lars Ulrich-approved 79 Revisited compilation put out several years ago. They managed to score an opening tour gig for Motorhead and did some recordings for an album, but the typical personal differences between the members forced a breakup in 1981. Eventually the original recordings were found and, combined with some other demo tracks, released as Set The Stage Alight in 2003, demonstrating a typical NWOBHM-flavored style with an accessible edge. Two of the guys were later seen in Wildfire as well as Statetrooper. The original quartet reunited in 2005 for some 25th-year anniversary gigs, and since then, a 2009 lineup featuring two original members is currently active.

Current Members

Danny Hynes


Oscar Bromvall


Tony Forsyth


Adnreas Westerlund


Former Members/Guests

Jeff Summers

guitars (ex-Statetrooper, ex-Wildfire)

Barry Downes


Gavin Cooper

bass (ex-Killers)

PJ Philips


Bruce Bisland

drums (ex-Praying Mantis, ex-Statetrooper, Tank, ex-Wildfire)

Ian Sweeting



Set The Stage Alight  COMPILATION
2003 Zoom Club
  1. Set The Stage Alight
  2. Liar
  3. Take That Bottle
  4. One Night Stand
  5. Mad Mad World
  6. Midnight Satisfaction
  7. Bad Love
  8. Olivia
  9. Remote Control (Demo)
  10. Light Of the World (Demo)
  11. Killer Instinct (Demo)
  12. Things You Do (Demo)

Rising From The Ashes  
2014 independent
  1. The Awakening (Prelude)
  2. Ride the Mariah!
  3. Fountain of Paradise
  4. Warrior
  5. Ready 4 U
  6. Burning Skies
  7. Alamein
  8. Wonderland
  9. Blood Soaked Rock
  10. Bad Reputation
  11. Celebration Time
  12. Killer Instinct
  • Danny Hynes
  • Jeff Summers
  • PJ Philips
  • Ian Sweeting

Ghosts Of War  
2019 Pure Steel
  1. Ghosts Of War
  2. Queen Of The Ride
  3. Redman
  4. Sea Of Hope
  5. Emerald God
  6. Tournique
  7. All I Need
  8. Hell On Earth
  9. '79 Revisited
  10. Set The Stage Alight (2017)
  11. G.O.W. Reprise
  • Danny Hynes
  • Jeff Summers
  • Tony Forsyth
  • Ian Sweeting

New Clear Power  
2023 Pride & Joy
  1. . Drumbeats of War
  2. Take It or leave It
  3. Electric Power
  4. In for the Kill
  5. Live for Today
  6. Remote Control
  7. Hard Road
  8. Diamon Lil’
  9. Shoot You Down
  10. Riding with the Angels (Samson/Russ Ballard cover)
  • Danny Hynes
  • Oscar Bromvall
  • Tony Forsyth
  • Adnreas Westerlund

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions