Origin: Sweden  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: July 17, 2016


Wolverine (somewhat oddly named for the Marvel comics character) formed in 1995 by the two Zell brothers Stefan and Mikael. Their musical progression has been steady from the onset -- their early days were spent as a death metal band, and their debut EP, A Fervent Dream, still displayed many of those early tendencies, though with an eye towards progession. By the time of The Window Purpose in 2001, they had shifted from a death band with progressive tendencies to a progressive band with death tendencies (the latter mostly being drummer Marcus Losbjer's growls, sung in tandem with Stefan Zell's clean vocals to good effect). Finally, in 2003, came Cold Light Of Monday, and the transformation was complete. Now completely a emotive, introspective, somewhat quiet progressive metal band, Cold Light (a concept album no less) shows a even more mature, refined, and diverse band at work. Judged purely on a traditional metal basis, the album isn't as heavy as even other prog metal bands, but it more than makes up for this in terms of emotion and tranquil style. Wolverine has come a long way in a relatively short time, and now are poised to rank among progressive metal's elite bands.

Current Members

Stefan Zell


Jonas Jonsson


Thomas Jansson

bass (GriftegĂ„rd)

Per Henriksson


Marcus Losbjer


Former Members/Guests

Mikael Zell


C-H Landegren

guitars/backing vocals

Per Broddesson

guitars (GriftegĂ„rd, ex-Year Of The Goat)

Andreas Baglien



Fervent Dream  EP
1999 Zizania
  1. Whispers On The Wind
  2. Echoes
  3. More Than Grief
  4. Again?
  5. Last Words
  6. Time (digipak bonus)
  7. Resistance (digipak bonus)
  • Stefan Zell
  • Mikael Zell
  • C-H Landegren
  • Marcus Losbjer

The Window Purpose  
2001 DVS
  1. End
  2. My Room
  3. His Cold Touch part I
  4. His Cold Touch part II
  5. Leaving Yesterday
  6. Towards Loss
  7. The Storm Inside
  8. Coma
  9. Release
  10. Post Life
  • Stefan Zell
  • Mikael Zell
  • Per Broddesson
  • Andreas Baglien
  • Marcus Losbjer

Cold Light Of Monday  
2003 Elitist
  1. Dawn
  2. Sarah
  3. New Best Friends
  4. Tightrope
  5. Carousel
  6. Trust
  7. Pantomime
  8. Red Canvas
  9. Dusk
  10. Tied With Sin
  11. The Final Redemption
  • Stefan Zell
  • Mikael Zell
  • Per Broddesson
  • Thomas Jansson
  • Andreas Baglien
  • Marcus Losbjer

2006 Candlelight
  1. A House Of Plague
  2. Bleeding
  3. Taste Of Sand
  4. And She Slowly Dies
  5. Sleepy Town
  6. Liar On The Mount
  7. This Cold Heart Of Mine
  8. Nothing More
  • Stefan Zell
  • Mikael Zell
  • Thomas Jansson
  • Per Henriksson
  • Marcus Losbjer

Communication Lost  
2011 Candlelight
  1. Downfall
  2. Into The Great Nothing
  3. Poison Ivy
  4. Your Favourite War
  5. Embrace
  6. Pulse
  7. What Remains
  8. In Memory Of Me
  9. In The Quiet Of Dawn
  10. Communication Lost
  11. A Beginning
  • Stefan Zell
  • Mikael Zell
  • Thomas Jansson
  • Per Henriksson
  • Marcus Losbjer

Machina Viva  
2016 Sensory
  1. The Bedlam Overture
  2. Machina
  3. Pile Of Ash (ES335 version)
  4. Our Last Goodbye
  5. Pledge
  6. When The Night Comes
  7. Nemesis
  8. Sheds
  9. Pile Of Ash (cello version) (CD bonus track)
  • Stefan Zell
  • Jonas Jonsson
  • Thomas Jansson
  • Per Henriksson
  • Marcus Losbjer

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions