Origin: Uddevalla, Sweden  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Page online: September 1, 2015
Last update/review: September 1, 2015


Retro thrash is alive and well the world over, as Sweden's Warfect can attest. The band started out as Incoma in 2003 and changed name in 2008, with a debut, Depicting The Macabre in 2009 followed by Exoneration Denied in 2003 (interestingly, reviews of Depicting put that album in the melodic death metal camp, which Exoneration definitely is not, so it looks like a style shift took place). Right down to the 80's cover art, Exoneration leaves no doubt as to its target audience, the band pulling no punches with speedy thrash that, as always, harkens back to the days of Exodus's first album and the like. There isn't a lot of variation here, and by definition retro thrash isn't about originality, but these guys do it as well as anyone these days (though, how many WarX thrash bands do we need? Warbeast? Warbringer? Warpath? Who can keep up?).

Current Members

Fredrik Wester

vocals/guitars (ex-Lord Belial)

Kristian Martinsson

bass/backing vocals

Manne Flood


Former Members/Guests

Håkan Karlsson

guitars/backing vocals

Mattias Kern



Depicting The Macabre  
2009 My Kingdom
  1. Creation
  2. Heathen Reigns
  3. Depicting the Macabre
  4. Symbol of Submission
  5. I Factor
  6. Supervised Life
  7. Never to Return
  8. Harvest of Trinity
  9. Truth Untold
  10. Atrocity
  • Fredrik Wester
  • HÃ¥kan Karlsson
  • Kristian Martinsson
  • Mattias Kern

Exoneration Denied  
  1. Exoneration Denied
  2. Drone Wars
  3. Filled with Hate
  4. Inflammatory
  5. Retribution Unfold
  6. The Prince
  7. Nation Divided
  8. Slit with Razor
  9. Roman Disfigure
  10. Pried from Earth
  • Fredrik Wester
  • Kristian Martinsson
  • Mattias Kern

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions