Origin: San Francisco, California, USA  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Last update/review: November 1, 2022

Blind Illusion

Forming in 1979, Blind Illusion was an institution in the SF Bay Area for years, going through numerous lineups and musical styles (for example, at one point they were a progressive rock band). The original formation consisted of David Godfrey (later of Heathen), guitarist Mark Biedermann, bassist Alvin Petty, and drummer Bret Hern, but by the time they were ready to record in 1987, only Biedermann remained, along with drummer Mike Miner, guitarist Larry LaLonde (fresh from Possessed) and a budding eccentric bassist in one Les Claypool. The album they recorded, The Sane Asylum, was a thrash album, and a very inventive one at that, highlighted by interesting riffs and Claypool's inventive basswork that at times hinted at his future. Soon enough this lineup broke up, with LaLonde and Claypool finding fame and fortune with Primus, and Blind Illusion faded into obscurity, known as one of those one-hit wonders (as well as a trivia curiosity given the Primus connection) and leaving many wondering what might have been.

For years afterward, Biedermann laid low, occasionally doing session work for bands like the aforementioned Heathen as well as none other than Blue Oyster Cult, but Blind Illusion the band was not heard from. There was talk of releasing a long-lost second album entitled The Medicine Show that featured LaLonde and Claypool, but that never happened. Finally, in 2010, a new Biedermann-led lineup released Demon Master. Bearing absolutely no similarity to The Sane Asylum or thrash in general, Demon Master features some metal influences, but only some, as the album draws more from pyschedelic rock, seventies prog, blues, even some funk.

Again the band quickly disappeared following the album release, not to heard from unil 2020. Now armed with a couple of metal veterans in Doug Piercy and Andy Galeon, Biedermann and crew look set to release a new album, Wrath Of The Gods, in late 2022.

Recent album: Wrath Of The Gods, released on October 7, 2022.

Current Members

Mark Biedermann


Doug Piercy

guitars (ex-Anvil Chorus, ex-Heathen)

Tom Gears


Andy Galeon

drums (ex-Death Angel, ex-The Organization, ex-Swarm, The Ghost Next Door)

Former Members/Guests

Larry LaLonde

guitars (ex-Possessed, Primus)

Les Claypool

bass (Primus, ex-Sausage)

Danny Harcourt


Mike Miner


Robert Nystrom


Erik Cruze



The Sane Asylum  
1988 Music For Nations
  1. The Sane Asylum
  2. Blood Shower
  3. Vengeance Is Mine
  4. Death Noise
  5. Kamakazi
  6. Smash The Crystal
  7. Vicious Visions
  8. Metamorphosis Of A Monster
  • Mark Biedermann
  • Larry LaLonde
  • Les Claypool
  • Mike Miner

Demon Master  
  1. Merger
  2. Mahakala
  3. Heaven's Devils
  4. Precurser - Demon Master
  5. Gargantuan
  6. Midnight in China
  7. Cajun Fang
  8. Storm Cloud
  • Mark Biedermann
  • Danny Harcourt
  • Robert Nystrom

2018  EP
2018 independent
  1. Race with the Wizard
  2. Ice Sage
  3. Metamorphosis of a Monster
  4. Vengeance Is Mine
  • Mark Biedermann
  • Doug Piercy
  • Tom Gears
  • Erik Cruze

Wrath Of The Gods  
2022 Hammerheart
  1. Straight as the Crowbar Flies
  2. Slow Death
  3. Protomolecule
  4. Spaced
  5. Wrath of the Gods
  6. Behemoth
  7. Lucifer's Awakening
  8. Amazing Maniacal Monolith
  9. No Rest 'Til Budapest
  • Mark Biedermann
  • Doug Piercy
  • Tom Gears
  • Andy Galeon

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions