Origin: Utrecht, Netherlands  
Genres: Progressive Metal, Instrumental
Official Site Facebook Twitter
Page online: July 25, 2009
Last update/review: December 15, 2016


Featuring two members from the present-day Cynic lineup, this Dutch bands's self-titled 2009 effort, accurately self-described as "fusion metal", is a jazz/metal lover's paradise. This truly is equal parts metal and jazz, with several of the numbers featuring free-form-sounding solos and fills typical of the fusion scene. No vocals here at all, another nod to their jazz side, and really vocals would not have made sense on an album like this. A must for the tech/prog/fusion metal fan. They initially disbanded a year later citing outside commitments, but 3/4 of the band regrouped and released Liminal in 2013, apparently a bit more post-rock inspired. The band carried on, but their musical interests continued to drift apart from their core sound, and so they again announced a breakup, presumably for good, in late 2016.

Last Lineup

Tymon Kruidenier

guitars (ex-Cynic)

Michel Nienhuis

guitars (Dodecahedron)

Robin Zielhorst

bass (ex-Cynic, guest for Ne Obliviscaris)

Yuma van Eekelen


Former Members/Guests

Stef Broks

drums (Textures)


2009 self-released
  1. Ripple of a Tear
  2. Time And Its Changes
  3. Asurim
  4. All That Surrounds pt.1
  5. Waves of Thought
  6. The Path
  7. All That Surrounds pt.2
  8. Embrace The Unknown
  9. An Elusive Need
  • Tymon Kruidenier
  • Michel Nienhuis
  • Robin Zielhorst
  • Stef Broks

2013 Season Of Mist
  1. Entrust
  2. One's Glow
  3. Alphaform
  4. Deeply Woven
  5. Triguna
  6. Movement
  7. Open
  8. Immanent
  • Tymon Kruidenier
  • Michel Nienhuis
  • Robin Zielhorst
  • Yuma van Eekelen

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions