Origin: Munich, Germany  
Genres: Death Metal
Page online: November 18, 2008
Last update/review: October 31, 2022


Formed in 2002 by guitarist/vocalist Steffen Kummerer and presumably named after the classic Gorguts album, Obscura impressively debuted in 2006 with Retribution, a self-released effort that later won them a contract with Relapse Records where they released several albums. Though not quite as wacky as Gorguts, this is nevertheless highly-charged technical yet brutal thrash-tinged death metal with a fair degree of variation and excellent musicianship that contrasts nicely with the brutal riffing. Kummerer has overhauled the lineup several times over the years, most recently after 2018's Diluvium when the other three guys all left and later emerged with their own band, Obsidious. Two of the eventual replacements were in fact returning core members of the group, in the form of well-travelled guitarist Christian Münzner and bassist Jeroen Paul Thesseling.

Current Members

Steffen Kummerer


Christian Münzner

guitars (Alkaloid, Eternity's End, guest for Hannes Grossmann, ex-Necrophagist, Paradox, ex-Spawn Of Possession)

Jeroen Paul Thesseling

bass (ex-Pestilence, ex-Sadist)

David Diepold

drums (Amon Din)

Former Members/Guests

Markus Lempsch


Tom Geldschläger


Rafael Trujillo

guitars (Obsidious)

Jonas Fischer


Linus Klausenitzer

bass (Alkaloid, Eternity's End, guest for Hannes Grossmann, Noneuclid, Obsidious)

Jonas Baumgartl


Hannes Grossmann

drums (Alkaloid, Blotted Science, Eternity's End, Hate Eternal, Hannes Grossmann, Howling Sycamore, ex-Necrophagist, Triptykon)

Sebastian Lanser

drums (guest for Belphegor, guest for Edenbridge, Obsidious)


2006 Vots
  1. Humankind
  2. Nothing
  3. Unhinged
  4. None Shall Be Spared
  5. Alone
  6. Hymn to A Nocturnal Visitor
  7. Intoxicated
  8. Exit Life
  9. Sentiment
  10. Sweet Silence
  11. Lack of Compehension
  • Steffen Kummerer
  • Markus Lempsch
  • Jonas Fischer
  • Jonas Baumgartl

2009 Relapse
  1. Anticosmic Overload
  2. Choir of Spirits
  3. Universe Momentum
  4. Incarnated
  5. Orbital Elements
  6. Desolate Spheres
  7. Infinite Rotation
  8. Noosphere
  9. Cosmogenesis
  10. Centric Flow
  • Steffen Kummerer
  • Christian Münzner
  • Jeroen Paul Thesseling
  • Hannes Grossmann
2009 Readers' Album #16

2011 Relapse
  1. Septuagint
  2. Vortex Omnivium
  3. Ocean Gateways
  4. Euclidean Elements
  5. Prismal Dawn
  6. Celestial Spheres
  7. Velocity
  8. A Transcendental Serenade
  9. Aevum
  • Steffen Kummerer
  • Christian Münzner
  • Jeroen Paul Thesseling
  • Hannes Grossmann
2011 Readers' Album #36

Illegimitation  COMPILATION
2012 Relapse
  1. ...and All Will Come to an End
  2. Crucified
  3. Fear
  4. Immanent Desaster
  5. Incarnated
  6. Open the Gates
  7. Headworm
  8. Flesh and the Power it Holds
  9. Piece of Time
  10. How Could I

2016 Relapse
  1. Sermon of the Seven Suns
  2. The Monist
  3. Akróasis
  4. Ten Sepiroth
  5. Ode to the Sun
  6. Fractal Dimension
  7. Perpetual Infinity
  8. Weltseele
  9. The Origin of Primal Expression
  • Steffen Kummerer
  • Tom Geldschläger
  • Linus Klausenitzer
  • Sebastian Lanser

2018 Relapse
  1. Clandestine Stars
  2. Emergent Evolution
  3. Diluvium
  4. Mortification of the Vulgar Sun
  5. Ethereal Skies
  6. Convergence
  7. Ekpyrosis
  8. The Seventh Aeon
  9. The Conjuration
  10. An Epilogue to Infinity
  11. A Last Farewell (Bonus Track)
  • Steffen Kummerer
  • Rafael Trujillo
  • Linus Klausenitzer
  • Sebastian Lanser

A Valediction  
2021 Nuclear Blast
  1. Forsaken
  2. Solaris
  3. A Valediction
  4. When Stars Collide
  5. In Unity
  6. Devoured Usurper
  7. The Beyond
  8. Orbital Elements II
  9. The Neuromancer
  10. In Adversity
  11. Heritage
  • Steffen Kummerer
  • Christian Münzner
  • Jeroen Paul Thesseling
  • David Diepold

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions