Origin: Erlangen, Germany  
Genres: Death Metal
Page online: August 3, 2017
Last update/review: October 7, 2023


Alkaloid was formed in 2014 following the departures of Hannes Grossman Obscura, and following a well-publicized crowdsourcing effort to fund their first album, emerged with The Malkuth Grimoire in 2015. The list of past bands associated with the members provides a nice cross-section of technically-minded death metal, with the two bands most relevant being Obscura and Necrophagist. And while there's plenty of the expected twisted riffing that one might expect, there's actually quite a bit more going on as well. Diversity and experimentation are the strengths here, with superior musicianship always at the forefront but rarely getting in the way of the songs themselves. This is too talented a band to remain unsigned (and, indeed, Grimoire was picked up by Apostasy Records after the indie release), it will be interesting to see if this album can be topped.

Recent album: Numen, released on September 15, 2023.

Current Members

Morean (Florian Magnus Maier)

vocals/guitars (Dark Fortress, guest for Hannes Grossmann, Noneuclid)

Christian Münzner

guitars (Eternity's End, guest for Hannes Grossmann, ex-Necrophagist, Obscura, Paradox, ex-Spawn Of Possession)

Linus Klausenitzer

bass (Eternity's End, guest for Hannes Grossmann, Noneuclid, ex-Obscura, Obsidious)

Hannes Grossmann

drums (Blotted Science, Eternity's End, Hate Eternal, Hannes Grossmann, Howling Sycamore, ex-Necrophagist, ex-Obscura, Triptykon)

Former Members/Guests

Danny Tunker

guitars (ex-Aborted, ex-God Dethroned, guest for Hannes Grossmann)


The Malkuth Grimoire  
2015 Apostasy
  1. Carbon Phrases
  2. From a Hadron Machinist
  3. Cthulhu
  4. Alter Magnitudes
  5. Orgonism
  6. Dyson Sphere I. Mining the Oort Cloud
  7. Dyson Sphere II. Assembly
  8. Dyson Sphere III. Kardashev II.1 - The God Oven
  9. Dyson Sphere IV. Sol Omega
  10. The Malkuth Grimoire
  11. C-Value Enigma
  12. Funeral for a Continents
  • Morean
  • Christian Münzner
  • Danny Tunker
  • Linus Klausenitzer
  • Hannes Grossmann

Liquid Anatomy  
2018 Season Of Mist
  1. Kernel Panic
  2. As Decreed by Laws Unwritten
  3. Azagthoth
  4. Liquid Anatomy
  5. In Turmoil's Swirling Reaches
  6. Interstellar Boredom
  7. Chaos Theory and Practice
  8. Rise of the Cephalopods
  • Morean
  • Christian Münzner
  • Danny Tunker
  • Linus Klausenitzer
  • Hannes Grossmann

2023 Season Of Mist
  • Morean
  • Christian Münzner
  • Linus Klausenitzer
  • Hannes Grossmann

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions