Origin: Maryland, USA  
Genres: Doom Metal
Last update/review: March 2, 2016

Spirit Caravan

In the world of stoner/doom metal, Scott Weinrich (affectionately known as "Wino") is revered almost as a god. As the founder of The Obsessed (as well as a stint in St. Vitus), he has influenced countless bands over the years, as virtually every Sabbath-styled doom band owes at least a little bit to him. When The Obssessed decided to pack it in following the successful The Church Within album, Weinrich continued in a new band, briefly entitled Shine before the name switch to Spirit Caravan. The two albums released, Jug Fulla Sun and The Elusive Truth were everything one might expect from Weinrich -- topnotch songwriting, heavy riffing, and a voice perfectly suited to the style at hand. Weinrich initially folded the band in 2002, then revived it in 2013, and finally decided to take the current lineup and formally become The Obsessed once again, announcing the shift in March 2016.

Last Lineup

Scott "Wino" Weinrich

vocals/guitars (ex-The Hidden Hand, The Obsessed, ex-Place Of Skulls, ex-St. Vitus, Wino)

Dave Sherman

bass (Earthride, ex-Wretched) RIP: September 6, 2022, age 55

Gary Isom

drums (ex-Iron Man, ex-Pentagram, ex-Unorthodox)


Jug Fulla Sun  
1999 Tolotta
  1. Healing Tongue
  2. Courage
  3. Cosmic Artifact
  4. Fear's Machine
  5. Powertime
  6. Dead Love/Jug Fulla Sun
  7. Fang
  8. Chaw
  9. Melancholy Grey
  10. Sea Legs
  11. Kill Ugly Naked
  12. Lost Sun Dance
  13. No Hope Goat Farm
  • Scott "Wino" Weinrich
  • Dave Sherman
  • Gary Isom

Dreamwheel  EP
1999 MeteorCity
  1. Dreamwheel
  2. Burnin' In
  3. Re-Alignment/Higher Power
  4. Sun Stoned
  5. C, Yourself
  • Scott "Wino" Weinrich
  • Dave Sherman
  • Gary Isom

Elusive Truth  
2000 Tolotta
  1. Spirit Caravan
  2. Black Flower
  3. Retroman
  4. Find It
  5. Futility's Reasons
  6. Cloudy Mirror
  7. Elusive Truth
  8. Darkness & Longing
  9. Lifer City
  10. Outlaw Wizard
  11. The Departure
  • Scott "Wino" Weinrich
  • Dave Sherman
  • Gary Isom

The Last Embrace (2CD compilation)  
2003 MeteorCity
  1. The Last Embrace (previously unreleased)
  2. Brainwashed (previously unreleased)
  3. Healing Tongue
  4. Cosmic Artifact
  5. Fear's Machine
  6. Dead Love / Jug Fulla Sun
  7. Fang
  8. Chaw
  9. Melancholy Grey
  10. Sea Legs
  11. Kill Ugly Naked
  12. No Hope Goat Farm
  13. Courage (7" version)
  14. Powertime (Metal Injection version)
  15. Lost Sun Dance (7" version)
  16. Dove-Tongued Aggressor (previously unreleased)
  17. So Mortal Be (from Spirit Caravan 7")
  18. Undone Mind (from Spirit Caravan 7")
  19. Spirit Caravan
  20. Black Flower
  21. Retroman
  22. Find It
  23. Futility's Reasons
  24. Cloudy Mirror
  25. Elusive Truth
  26. Lifer City
  27. Outlaw Wizard
  28. Darkness & Longing (7" version)
  29. The Departure (Rise 13 version)

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions