Origin: Trondheim, Norway  
Genres: Black Metal
Facebook Official Site
Last update/review: March 2, 2023


Thorns date back to well before their debut album, being considered one of the forefathers of black metal (along with bands such as Mayhem and Darkthrone) and releasing a cult underground demo by the name of "Grymyrk" before the whole Euronymous/Grishnacht fiasco transpired, and in fact Thorns founder Snorre Ruch's involvement in said fiasco is at least partially responsible, if not wholly responsible, for the band's inactivity in the years since. Year later, Ruch rematerialized, with Thorns essentially a solo project of sorts, with several musicians well-known in the black metal community assisting on the first full-length Thorns release. Thorns, the album, is strikingly impressive, featuring a cold, stark, inventive guitar style from Ruch which is both unique and classically black at the same time. The style marries the best of early black metal with modern influences, somewhat similar to what attempted once upon a time.

Current Members

Aldrahn (Bjørn Dencker Gjerde)

vocals (ex-Dødheimsgard, ex-The Deathtrip, Urarv, ex-Zyklon-B)

Snorre Ruch

keyboards/guitars/programming (guest for The 3rd And The Mortal)

Former Members/Guests

Satyr Wongraven


Christian Broholt


Jon Wesseltoft

bass (ex-The Deathtrip)

Jan Axel Von Blomberg

drums (ex-Arcturus, guest for Dimmu Borgir, ex-Jorn, ex-The Kovenant, Mayhem, ex-Mezzerschmitt, ex-Troll, ex-Winds)

Kenneth Kapstad



Thorns vs Emperor (split w/ Emperor)  
1998 Moonfog
  1. [Empe] - Exördium
  2. Ærie Descent
  3. [Empe] - I Am
  4. [Empe] - Ærie Descent (Thorns cover)
  5. [Empe] - Thus March the Nightspirit
  6. Melas Khole
  7. The Discipline of Earth
  8. Cosmic Keys (Emperor cover)
  • Aldrahn
  • Satyr Wongraven
  • Snorre Ruch
  • Jan Axel Von Blomberg

2001 Moonfog
  1. Existence
  2. World Playground Deceit
  3. Shifting Channels
  4. Stellar Master Elite
  5. Underneath The Universe
  6. -part 2
  7. Interfact To God
  8. Vortex
  • Aldrahn
  • Snorre Ruch
  • Christian Broholt
  • Jon Wesseltoft
  • Kenneth Kapstad

Embrace / Fragment  
  • Aldrahn
  • Satyr Wongraven
  • Snorre Ruch

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions