Origin: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Page online: November 19, 2009
Last update/review: February 14, 2015


Though this band debuted in 2009, Tenet had been a project in the works for years. The group was formed back in 1996 by Zimmers Hole guitarist Jed Simon, with Sacrifice's Rob Urbinati among others participating in early versions of the band. As Simon got busy with ZH and Strapping Young Lad, the project was shelved for years, until he finally decided to make a go of it, turning Tenet into a who's who of thrash in the process. Simon teams up with former Forbidden axeman Glen Alvelais on guitars, and joining that pair are Exodus frontman Zetro Sousa, Simon's mate Byron Stroud on bass, and who else but the busiest drummer in thrash, Gene Hoglan. The lineup complete, the debut album, Sovereign, was finally completed in 2009. Given the band's heritage, the style is not surprising -- this is thrash through and through, but neither a retro rehash nor a wholly modern version, but somewhere between the two extremes. Sousa's vocals have become more vicious and snarly over the years, befitting the aggressive riffing and pounding of the rest of the band. Anyone into any of the members' former bands should latch onto Sovereign without question. The project never released another album.

Last Lineup

Steve Souza

vocals (Dublin Death Patrol, Exodus, ex-Hatriot)

Jed Simon

guitars (ex-Devin Townsend Project, ex-Scar The Martyr, ex-Strapping Young Lad, ex-Devin Townsend, Zimmers Hole)

Glen Alvelais

guitars (ex-Forbidden, ex-Testament)

Byron Stroud

bass (3 Inches Of Blood, ex-Fear Factory, ex-Strapping Young Lad, ex-Devin Townsend, Zimmers Hole)

Gene Hoglan

drums (Dark Angel, Daemon, ex-Death, Dethklok, ex-Fear Factory, Mechanism, ex-Memorain, ex-Old Man's Child, ex-Phantasm, ex-Strapping Young Lad, ex-Testament, ex-Devin Townsend, guest for Viking, Zimmers Hole)


2009 Century Media
  1. Being and Nothingness
  2. Indulge Me
  3. Crown of Thorns
  4. Unnameable
  5. Take a Long Line
  6. Going Down
  7. Hail! Hail!
  8. Watching You Burn
  9. Sovereign
  • Steve Souza
  • Jed Simon
  • Glen Alvelais
  • Byron Stroud
  • Gene Hoglan

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions