Origin: Billings, Montana, USA  
Genres: Power Metal
Last update/review: November 1, 2022


Onward is a band featuring guitar hero Toby Knapp, who first recorded as a solo artist on the Shrapnel label with the album Guitar Distortion and then hooked up with vocalist Michael Grant here. The band specialized in melodic power metal field (think Destiny's End), with Knapp's flashy guitarwork and Grant's well-suited vocals the highlights. They announced their breakup in July of 2003 following the termination of their contract with Century Media, though Knapp briefly put a new lineup together in 2007, around the same time that a third album, Neverending Sun (recorded in 2003 with the old lineup) was released. After Grant's passing in 2012 prevented a planned reformation, Knapp recorded an album by himself with Grant vocals retrieved from old tapes, released as New Fathoms Down in 2014. Finally, Knapp put together a all-new lineup in 2021, with an album released the following year.

Current Members

Robert van War


Dean Sternberg

vocals/bass (ex-Violent Storm)

Toby Knapp


Vance French


Bart Barkac


Former Members/Guests

Michael Grant

vocals (ex-Crescent Shield, ex-Cypher Seer, ex-Legend Maker) RIP: May 31, 2012, acute illness, age 39

Randy LaFrance


Chris Payette

bass RIP: December 12, 2020, age 49

Jon Pereau



2001 Century Media
  1. The Kindness of Strangers
  2. Onward
  3. The Waterfall Enchantress
  4. The Last Sunset
  5. Absolution Mine
  6. Witches Winter Eternal
  7. Storm Coming Soon
  8. The Lost Side of the World
  • Michael Grant
  • Toby Knapp
  • Randy LaFrance
  • Jon Pereau

2002 Century Media
  1. Reawaken
  2. Night
  3. Seven Tides of Labyrinthine
  4. Where Evil Follows
  5. Eye of the Nightmare
  6. My Darkest Room
  7. In Due Time
  8. Clockwork Toy
  9. Who Saw the Last Star Fall
  10. The Next Triumph
  11. Pt 2: Reawakening
  • Michael Grant
  • Toby Knapp
  • Chris Payette
  • Jon Pereau

The Neverending Sun  
2007 Metalbolic
  1. Beyond The Strong
  2. Feast For The Reaper
  3. Mind Bomb
  4. The Neverending Sun
  5. The Wrong Man
  6. Dawn Of Our Only Day
  7. Acts Of Aphrodaesia
  8. No Miracles For Me
  9. Triad
  10. Front Line Away (bonus)
  11. Sleeper's Island (bonus)
  12. The Day That Nothing Died (bonus)
  • Michael Grant
  • Toby Knapp
  • Chris Payette
  • Jon Pereau

New Fathoms Down  
2014 independent
  1. New Fathoms Down
  2. Front Line Away
  3. The End of Loneliness
  4. I Will Be Waiting
  5. Sleeper's Island
  6. The Ghosts of Might Be Madness
  7. The Day That Nothing Died
  8. Runaway Day
  9. Enemy 9
  • Michael Grant
  • Toby Knapp

New Fathoms Down  
2022 Moribund
  1. Vicious Beauty
  2. Picasso Eyes
  3. Silhouette
  4. Ring Around the Rosary
  5. A New Epoch
  6. Neptune's Revenge
  7. Divided We Fall
  8. Onward We Sail

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions