Origin: USA  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Page online: January 8, 2018
Last update/review: January 21, 2020

Sons Of Apollo

Has the ever-restless Mike Portnoy (once of Dream Theater and part of numerous projects over the last decade or so) finally found a permanent home? Time will tell, but Sons Of Apollo, a band that truly deserves the supergroup tag, is tailor-made for his talents, as well as those of keyboardist Derek Sherinian (also formerly with Dream Theater), bassist Billy Sheehan (Mr. Big and others), guitarist Bumblefoot (ex-GNR), and vocalist Jeff Scott Soto (Yngwie Malmsteen and others). The guys came together in 2017 and rather quickly put out Psychotic Symphony later that year. The album veers from traditional prog metal tunes to some more experimental excursions where the guys get to flex their musical muscles, though thankfully there's not as much technical wankery as there could have been. Arguably things are a bit on the safe side here, yet all five musicians excel, and as progressive metal has been a bit on the stale side recently, a band like this might provide the kick in the butt the genre needs.

Current Members

Jeff Scott Soto

vocals (ex-Kryst The Conqueror, ex-Yngwie Malmsteen, ex-Axel Rudi Pell, ex-Skrapp Mettle)

Ron Thal

guitars (ex-Guns'n'Roses)

Billy Sheehan

bass (ex-Planet X, ex-Talas)

Derek Sherinian

keyboards (ex-Alice Cooper, guest for All Too Human, ex-Dream Theater, ex-Yngwie Malmsteen, ex-Planet X)

Mike Portnoy

drums (ex-Adrenaline Mob, guest for Avenged Sevenfold, guest for Bigelf, BPMD, Dream Theater, Liquid Tension Experiment, Metal Allegiance, guest for O.S.I.)


Psychotic Symphony  
2017 Inside Out
  1. God of the Sun
  2. Coming Home
  3. Signs of the Time
  4. Labyrinth
  5. Alive
  6. Lost in Oblivion
  7. Figaro's Whore
  8. Divine Addiction
  9. Opus Maximus
  • Jeff Scott Soto
  • Ron Thal
  • Billy Sheehan
  • Derek Sherinian
  • Mike Portnoy

Alive / Tengo Vida  EP
2018 Inside Out
  1. Alive
  2. Alive (Radio edit)
  3. Alive (Acoustic version)
  4. Tengo Vida ("Alive" spanish version)
  5. Tengo Vida ("Alive" spanish version - radio edit)
  6. Tengo Vida ("Alive" spanish acoustic version)

Live With The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony  LIVE
2019 Inside Out
  1. God of the Sun
  2. Signs of the Time
  3. Divine Addiction
  4. That Metal Show Theme
  5. Just Let Me Breathe (Dream Theater cover)
  6. Billy Sheehan Bass Solo
  7. Lost in Oblivion
  8. Jeff Scott Soto Solo Spot (The Prophet's Song / Save Me)
  9. Alive
  10. The Pink Panther Theme (Henry Mancini cover)
  11. Opus Maximus
  12. Kashmir (Led Zeppelin cover)
  13. Gates of Babylon (Rainbow cover)
  14. Labyrinth
  15. Dream On (Aerosmith cover)
  16. Diary of a Madman (Ozzy Osbourne cover)
  17. Comfortably Numb (Pink Floyd cover)
  18. The Show Must Go On (Queen cover)
  19. Hell's Kitchen (Dream Theater cover)
  20. Derek Sherinian Keyboard Solo
  21. Lines in the Sand (Dream Theater cover)
  22. Bumblefoot Guitar Spot
  23. And the Cradle Will Rock (Van Halen cover)
  24. Coming Home
  • Jeff Scott Soto
  • Ron Thal
  • Billy Sheehan
  • Derek Sherinian
  • Mike Portnoy

2020 Inside Out
  1. Goodbye Divinity
  2. Wither To Black
  3. Asphyxiation
  4. Desolate July
  5. King Of Delusion
  6. Fall To Ascend
  7. Resurrection Day
  8. New World Today
  • Jeff Scott Soto
  • Ron Thal
  • Billy Sheehan
  • Derek Sherinian
  • Mike Portnoy

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions