Origin: Sala, Sweden  
Genres: Power Metal, Traditional Metal
Official Site Facebook Twitter YouTube
Page online: April 6, 2004
Last update/review: February 29, 2008

Steel Attack

Formed in 1995, Steel Attack has now survived more a decade in the business, recently releasing their fifth album. In their early days their style was squarely in the Helloween /HammerFall camp of classic Germanic power metal (upbeat singalong choruses, swords 'n sorcery lyrics, driving double-bass drumming), no suprise given song titles such as "Defender Of The Crown", "Heavy Metal God", etc., as well as their signing to AFM Records, a label specializing in just that style of music (and, admittedly, Steel Attack would appear to be a perfect name for such a band). Over the course of several albums and lineup changes, though, their style has shifted, as on their 2006 Diabolic Symphony release they are now much more a traditional Euro metal band and not a stereotypical power metal band, a welcome progression indeed.

Last Lineup

Johan Jalonen


John Allan Forssén


Former Members/Guests

Steve Steel (Stefan Westerberg)

vocals/bass (ex-Asperity, ex-Carnal Forge, ex-In Thy Dreams, ex-World Below)

Dick Johnson


Ronny Hemlin

vocals (Tad Morose)

Dennis Vestman

guitars (ex-Carnal Forge)

Simon Johansson

guitars (ex-Abstrakt Algebra, ex-Fifth Reason, Memory Garden, Soilwork, Wolf)

Peter Späth


Anden Andersson


Johan Löfgren

bass (ex-Tad Morose)

Andreas De Vera


Roger Raw


Mike Stark


Tony Elfving


Peter Morén

drums (Tad Morose)


Where Mankind Fails  
1999 AFM
  1. Dragon's Skull
  2. Where Mankind Fails
  3. Island Of Gods
  4. Heading For The Lair
  5. Village Of Agabha
  6. The Furious Spirit Of Death
  7. The Creation Of Be-Lou (The Tragic Kingdom Part I)
  8. The Awakening (The Tragic Kingdom Part II)
  9. Thunder Knight
  10. Forgotten Land
  • Steve Steel
  • Dennis Vestman
  • John Allan Forssén
  • Andreas De Vera

Fall Into Madness  
2001 AFM
  1. Fall Into Madness
  2. The Beast
  3. Guardians
  4. Holy Swordsmen
  5. Judgement Day
  6. Wings Of Faith
  7. Clearing The Mind
  8. Fireballs
  9. Defender Of The Crown
  • Steve Steel
  • Dennis Vestman
  • John Allan Forssén
  • Roger Raw

Predator Of The Empire  
2003 Arise
  1. Predator Of The Empire
  2. Cursed Land
  3. The Darkness
  4. Point Of No Return
  5. Heavy Metal God
  6. The Holy Sign
  7. Arise
  8. Nightmare
  9. One Way To Heaven One Way To Hell
  10. Reality Unknown
  • Dick Johnson
  • Dennis Vestman
  • John Allan Forssén
  • Peter Späth
  • Mike Stark

2004 Arise
  1. Gates Of Heaven
  2. Out Of The Flames
  3. Forsaken
  4. Bless My Sins
  5. Immortal Hate
  6. Son Of A Thousand Souls
  7. Enslaved
  8. Voices
  9. When You Dream
  10. Afraid No More
  • Ronny Hemlin
  • Johan Jalonen
  • John Allan Forssén
  • Anden Andersson
  • Mike Stark

Diabolic Symphony  
2006 Massacre
  1. Diabolic Symphony
  2. Dead Forever
  3. Shallow Seas of Hatred
  4. Dreaming
  5. Embraced By Fear
  6. Invisible God
  7. Sanctimonious
  8. Haunting
  9. Show Me The Way
  10. Winter Hell
  11. I Bow my Head In Shame
  12. The Other Side
  • Ronny Hemlin
  • Johan Jalonen
  • John Allan Forssén
  • Anden Andersson
  • Tony Elfving

Carpe DiEnd  
2008 Massacre
  1. Carpe DiEnd
  2. The Evil In Me
  3. I Keep Falling
  4. Holy Is Evil
  5. Perpetual Solitude
  6. For Whom I Bleed?
  7. Angels
  8. Entrance To Heaven Denied
  9. Crawl
  10. Never Again
  11. Beyond The Light
  • Ronny Hemlin
  • Simon Johansson
  • John Allan Forssén
  • Johan Löfgren
  • Peter Morén

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions