Origin: Sweden  
Genres: Doom Metal
Official Site
Page online: June 8, 2007
Last update/review: June 13, 2017

World Below

Formed by Jonas Kjellgren in 1999, World Below had several members featured in other Swedish bands (typical of the Scandinavian metal scene, it seems almost everyone is in two or three bands at the same time). Kjellgren's main work is more in the death metal camp, but here the focus is traditional doom, solidly heavy but not as dreary as some bands in the genre. Mikael Danielsson's vocals are kind of unique – his is not a particularly strong voice, but his somewhat relaxed style, paired with some tasteful keyboards, give this band a slightly upbeat quality. Mind you, this is still doom metal we're talking about, this is not happy music, but there’s a laidback quality here that keeps things interesting. They recorded three albums in quick succession before eventually disbanding.

Last Lineup

Jonas Kjellgren

guitars/vocals (ex-Carnal Forge, ex-Centinex, guest for October Tide, ex-Scar Symmetry)

Mikael Danielsson


Ronnie Bergerståhl

drums (ex-Centinex, ex-Grave, ex-Julie Laughs Nomore, ex-Triton Enigma)

Former Members/Guests

Per Nilsson

guitars (Nocturnal Rites, Scar Symmetry)

Stefan Westerberg

drums (ex-Asperity, ex-Carnal Forge, ex-In Thy Dreams, ex-Steel Attack)


Sacrifices To The Moon  
2004 Underground Symphony
  1. Blood For Draculic
  2. Sacrifices To The Moon
  3. Ancient Rites Of The Black Cult
  4. Forgotten Civilization
  5. Mist Of Death
  6. Vengeance
  7. Gatherings In The Forest
  8. Witchbrew
  • Jonas Kjellgren
  • Mikael Danielsson
  • Stefan Westerberg

2005 PsycheDOOMelic
  1. The Dissection Of An Evil Mind
  2. Spiritual Disaster
  3. Epitaph
  4. Behind The Door
  5. Nyarlathotep (Harvester Of Souls)
  6. A Future So Dark
  7. Absinthe
  • Jonas Kjellgren
  • Per Nilsson
  • Mikael Danielsson
  • Ronnie Bergerståhl

2006 PsycheDOOMelic
  1. Monsters In The Closet
  2. 731
  3. Gilgamesh
  4. The Old Ones
  5. Monument
  • Jonas Kjellgren
  • Mikael Danielsson
  • Ronnie Bergerståhl

Copyright © 1995-2022 BNR Productions