Origin: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA  
Genres: Sludge Metal
Official Site Facebook
Last update/review: October 30, 2021


Superjoint (formerly Superjoint Ritual, the new name apparently needed for legal reasons) was yet another band featuring the talents of former Pantera frontman Phil Anselmo. His other bands/projects have ranged from southern doom to old-school black metal to horror-infused death metal in addition to the aggro-thrash of Pantera, and here he takes on yet another style, as 2002's Use Once And Destroy is a frenzied mix of hardcore, punk, and thrash metal. Raw, uncompromising, and extreme, it's a pretty intense listen, with Phil's vocals far more harsh than those in Pantera (in general, there's little reason to compare this to Pantera, these are two completely different and separate entities) and the guitarwork, shared by Phil and fellow Down cohort Jimmy Bower (normally a drummer) is simplistic yet effective. Two albums were released in 2002 and 2003, and after that Anselmo essentially put the band on ice as he continued with his other bands and projects. The band was revived with the new shortened name in 2014 and a third album released in 2016, but interest in continuing the project waned in recent years, and an announcement by guitarist Jimmy Bower in late 2021 confirmed that the band was pretty much done, as the members were concentrating on other bands, mainly Eyehategod and Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals.

Last Lineup

Phil Anselmo

vocals/guitars (Arson Anthem, Down, ex-Necrophagia, ex-Pantera, Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals, Scour, ex-Viking Crown)

Jimmy Bower

guitars (ex-Corrosion Of Conformity, ex-Crowbar, ex-Debris Inc., Down, Eyehategod)

Kevin Bond


Stephen Taylor

bass (Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals)

José Gonzalez

drums (Warbeast)

Former Members/Guests

Michael Haaga

bass (ex-Dead Horse)

Hank Williams III

bass (Arson Anthem)

Joe Fazzio



Use Once And Destroy  
2002 Metal-Is
  1. Oblivious Maximus
  2. It Takes No Guts
  3. Everyone Hates Everyone
  4. Introvert
  5. Alcoholik
  6. Fuck Your Enemy
  7. 4 Songs
  8. Message
  9. All of Our Lives Will Get Tired
  10. Antifaith
  11. Ozena
  12. Drug Your Love
  13. Haunted/Hated
  14. Stupid, Stupid Man
  15. Creepy Crawl
  16. Superjoint Ritual
  • Phil Anselmo
  • Jimmy Bower
  • Michael Haaga
  • Joe Fazzio
2002 Readers' Album #50

A Lethal Dose Of American Hatred  
2003 Sanctuary
  1. Drug Dealer's A Dick
  2. Sickness
  3. Waiting For The Turning Point
  4. Dress Like A Target
  5. The Destruction Of A Person
  6. Personal Insult
  7. Never To Sit Or Stand Again
  8. Death Threat
  9. Her 6th Lesson In Life
  10. Permanently
  11. Stealing A Page Or Two From The Armed And Radical Pagans
  12. Symbol Of Nevermore
  13. The Knife Rises
  14. The Horror
  15. Absorbed
  16. Black Mood
  • Phil Anselmo
  • Jimmy Bower
  • Kevin Bond
  • Hank Williams III
  • Joe Fazzio
2003 Readers' Album #40

Caught Up In The Gears Of Application  
2016 Housecore
  1. Today and Tomorrow
  2. Burning the Blanket
  3. Ruin You
  4. Caught Up in the Gears of Application
  5. Sociopathic Herd Delusion
  6. Circling the Drain
  7. Clickbait
  8. Asshole
  9. Mutts Bite Too
  10. Rigging the Fight
  11. Receiving No Answer to the Knock
  • Phil Anselmo
  • Jimmy Bower
  • Kevin Bond
  • Stephen Taylor
  • José Gonzalez

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions